Your journey to the revised ISO 9001:2015 with LRQA

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) normally reviews standards every five years to ensure that they are relevant to changing market demands. ISO 9001:2015 is now published.

ISO 9001:2015 - One year to go

The implications of failing to transition to 2015 versions of the standards by this date are that:

  • Your organisation may no longer claim to be approved by your respective certification body 

  • You may no longer accept orders in which your approval is a condition of contract and you must notify customers with whom you have contracts for which approval is a contractual requirement, that your approval is no longer valid 
  • You may no longer promote your certification and you must withdraw from circulation any documents bearing your certification body’s approval mark

These insights from our clients, assessors, and client services teams will help you through a smooth transition journey.

8 things that you can do now that will make your transition easier  Frequently asked questions 
8 things guide cover 
FAQ cover 

Discover the organisational benefits of ISO 9001:2015

Organisations worldwide are increasingly recognising that by moving from a compliance driven application of international standards, to one that places performance and risk management at their core, the link between certified management systems and the success and survival of their operations has never been stronger.

Read more by downloading our whitepaper:

What’s new with ISO 9001:2015?

Annex SL, the new high level structure and common text for all new and revised ISO standards, is the single biggest change to the ISO/FDIS 9001:2014 document. Other topics that are new include: 

a] organisational context (clause 4), 
b] knowledge (clause 7), 
c] the control of externally provided products and services (outsourcing, clause 8) and 
d] the formal introduction of a risk based approach (several clauses), among others.

Dubai Financial Market

What’s been revised?

Amongst the areas of the standard that have been revised or now contain more specific information, organisations should pay attention to: 

a] increased emphasis on top management engagement with ISO 9001 (clause 5), 
b] managing change (clause 6), 
c] performance and evaluation (clause 7), 
d] management review (clause 9) and 
e] repeat references to the process approach (several clauses).

What does ISO 9001:2015 mean for my organization?

The publication of the FDIS signifies the first stage at which organisations can start planning for their transition to the new standard when it is published (currently forecast by ISO to be September 2015).

Current information from ISO shows that organisations will have three years from publication to successfully complete transition to the new standard, so they can choose to transition at any point within this period.

Some may choose their next certification cycle, although many will want to be ‘among the first’ given the increased flexibility and value that ISO 9001:2015 will deliver, along with the bonus of a clear commitment to best practice being demonstrated to their interested parties.

How LRQA can help?

Our range of ISO 9001:2015 services includes gap analysis, training, including in-company management briefings and transition planning and facilitation workshops, and assessment, all of which are designed to make your transition to the new standard as seamless as possible. LRQA’s services are tailored to your organisation, your people and your systems, providing you with a better understanding of how these relate to your future business performance.

Timescale to transition

ISO 9001:2015 Time Frame to transition

Please note that these timescales are subject to change