ISO 45001: The International Occupational Health and Safety Management System Standard

ISO 45001:2018 Preparation self-assessment.

ISO 45001:2018 is the first ISO standard for Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S). While ISO 45001 is a new international standard, it builds on the concepts and requirements in OHSAS 18001:2007. Whether you are migrating from OHSAS 18001 or implementing an OH&S Management System (OHSMS) for the first time – this self-assessment will help you take the first steps to understanding what needs to be done.

ISO 45001 Self-Assessment

Overview of ISO 45001:2018

Increased global trade brings new health and safety challenges which have driven the need for an international OH&S management system standard to enable global benchmarking and to raise the bar for health and safety in the workplace. For this reason, ISO have developed an international standard that will be applicable to organisations of any size, sector or location.

In March 2018, ISO 45001 was published to increase global consistency and make workplaces safer and healthier for all. OHSAS 18001 will be withdrawn with the publication of ISO 45001:2018 and there will be a three-year migration period from the date of publication.

Benefits of ISO 45001:2018

More robust OH&S processes and controls, greater engagement and easy integration.

ISO 45001 will drive development of systematic processes that consider the broader context, taking into account the risks, opportunities, legal requirements and more, which will help to embed OH&S firmly at the core of the organisation to improve OH&S performance.

Workers will take an active role in OH&S, helping to reduce lost time due to accidents or ill health – creating a better working environment for your people and reducing costs and downtime in the process.

The Annex SL High Level Structure used by ISO in its new and revised standards makes it far simpler for management system controls to be integrated into a single ‘business management system’, which can help to reduce duplication in cost and effort.

How can Lloyd's Register help?

LR recognises that every organisation and its OH&S management systems are unique. The migration from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001 will depend upon the complexity of your organisation and the maturity of your management system.

At LR,we take time to understand the needs and unique circumstances of our clients and their businesses, to act with judgement, sensitivity and care. Our independence means that we’re committed to doing things the right way to reach the highest standards and best outcomes for all, giving our clients confidence in our decisions every time.


We specialise in management systems compliance including gap analysis, assessment and certification, all underpinned with expert advice designed to meet the needs of your industry. Our approach extends the focus beyond the certificate to an assessment approach designed to help you meet your strategic objectives. This is why we’re confident that we can help you migrate with ease from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001, once it is published.


We have developed a range of training courses to support you with your migration from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001. We want you reap the benefits of understanding the new standard early and our ISO 45001 will help you to prepare and build on your current level of OH&S knowledge and experience.

A wide range of assurance services

Don’t let your certification journey stop with occupational safety; at LR, we deliver certification, validation and verification assessment services to all of the world’s leading standards and schemes including environmental, sustainability, energy management, business continuity, cyber security and many more.